Maharishi Vedic Science

Start a new search

Back to: "A"

Agni is the digestive fire in Maharishi Ayurveda. Overeating weakens digestive fire, while eating at the same time each day allows agni to work at its peak.   There actually is an agni, or metabolic mechanism, in every cell of your body, and there is one associated with each subdosha as well. The agni associated with Sadhaka Pitta is responsible not for cooking food, but for cooking or processing emotions. This agni is called Sadhaka Agni.   To use modern terminology, Sadhaka Agni is related to the neurohormones that are located in the brain and all over the body, including the heart. The neurohormones located in the heart send signals to the brain to register depression or happiness, depending on how the individual processes an experience.   - See more at:
Broader Term
Maharishi Ayurveda®
Send comments to