Maharishi Vedic Science

Start a new search

Back to: "K"

The area of Vedic literature which deals with experience of the Ved is the six Upangas, which are associated with systems of gaining knowledge (Maharishi Vedic University Inauguration, Washington, DC: Age of Enlightenment Press. Maharishi Vedic University, 1985, pp. 116-117).   In the fourth Upanga, the Yoga Sutras of Maharishi Patanjali, the experience of pure consciousness as silent is described as Kaivalya. Taken together, the Upangas provide means for developing complete knowledge through the complete development of the knower.
Related Term
Yoga Sutras of Maharishi Patanjali
Send comments to