Maharishi Vedic Science

Start a new search

<< Maharishi's Achievements | Maharishi's Apaurusheya Bhashya | Maharishi's Books >>
Back to: "M"

Maharishi's Apaurusheya Bhashya
Maharishi’s Apaurusheya Bhashya is Maharishi’s "uncreated" commentary on Rk Veda. It brings out the structure of absolute eternal order. This commentary is not a man-made commentary, but is a realization that the Veda itself is its own commentary. It is an understanding that the Veda itself creates its own commentary.   The Veda, or the total potential of Natural Law, has all the knowledge within itself, in its seed form, to provide for any level of further expression or elaboration in creation.   This is the same understanding expressed by modern science when it states that the entire manifest universe is an expression of the underlying Unified Field of Natural Law. From this we see that Veda (pure knowledge and its infinite organizing power) extends from the smallest point value to the largest infinite value of the ever-expanding universe.   Maharishi's Apaurusheya Bhashya has also been described as follows:   Maharishi's Apaurusheya Bhashya presents the commentary of the Ved in the sequential progression of the Samhita itself. The first syllable of Rig-Ved, AK, expresses the dynamics of akshara — the "kshara" of "A," or collapse of infinity to its point value, which is the source of all the mechanics of self-interaction displayed in the sequential unfoldment of the Samhita.   From the lively seed of total knowledge expressed in the first word of Rig-Ved, AGNIM, the totality of the Ved and the Vedic literature unfolds in perfect sequence. Each elaborated stage serves as a commentary on the mechanics of transformation present in the gap preceding it.   The 24 gaps in between the syllables of the first richa are elaborated as the 24 padas in the following eight richas. The 192 gaps between the 192 syllables of the eight richas (2-9) of the first sukta are elaborated in the 192 suktas of the first mandala of Rig-Ved — 191 suktas plus one avyakta (unmanifest) sukta — while the 192 syllables themselves appear as the 192 gaps between the 192 suktas of the first mandala. These gaps in turn are elaborated in the 192 suktas of the tenth mandala.   In addition, each of the eight richas (2-9) in the first sukta gives rise in sequence to one of the following eight mandalas of the Rig-Ved (mandalas 2-9).   All the four Samhitas — Rig-Ved, Sama-Ved, Yajur-Ved, and Atharva-Ved —are compactly contained in AGNIM and emerge from its four letters: the Rig Samhita from G, the Sama Samhita from N, the Yajur Samhita from I, and the Atharva Samhita from M.   In this precise, step-wise manner, beginning with A, extending to AGNIM, and then to the first richa, to the first sukta, to the entire Rig-Ved, and to all four Vedas, the Ved unfolds sequentially from the totality of knowledge contained in A — the first expression of the Self knowing itself in the state of pure knowledge.   --Michael Dillbeck, Maharishi Vedic University undergraduate curriculum, 1985b, pp. 1-2.
Used For
Apaurusheya Bhashya
Broader Term
Maharishi's Achievements
Related Term
40 Aspects of Veda and Vedic Literature
Maharishi Mahesh Yogi
Pure Knowledge
Rk Veda
Sounds and Gaps in Veda and Vedic Literature
Structuring Dynamics of Creation
Unified Field of Natural Law
Vedic Literature
Send comments to