Maharishi Vedic Science

Start a new search

<< Heaven on Earth | Higher States of Consciousness | Home of All Knowledge >>
Back to: "H"

Higher States of Consciousness
In our age, Maharishi Mahesh Yogi has brought to light detailed knowledge of the highest states of human development, and the technologies of consciousness, including the Transcendental Meditation and Transcendental Meditation-Sidhi programs, for systematically attaining the full functioning of the total brain physiology.   Maharishi has formulated a complete science of consciousness — his Vedic Science — from the knowledge contained in the ancient Vedic Literature. This science describes the seven states of human consciousness—each with its own unique corresponding state of physiology and mental experience—and gives the theoretical and practical knowledge for unfolding the full value of human consciousness.   The first three states of consciousness are commonly experienced and understood: 1. Deep Sleep: body at deep rest; no mental awareness   2. Dreaming: body at rest; illusory mental awareness   3. Waking State: body in activity; active mental awareness   The Vedic Tradition describes how through proper education it is possible to systematically unfold four higher states of consciousness. They are: 4. Transcendental Consciousness: self-referral consciousness characterized by unbounded awareness, heightened wakefulness and deep physical rest.   5. Cosmic Consciousness: integration of Transcendental Consciousness with waking, dreaming, and sleeping states of consciousness. In this state the physiology is so stable and flexible that stress cannot accumulate. One experiences an underlying continuum of unbounded awareness.   6. God Consciousness or Refined Cosmic Consciousness: When Cosmic Consciousness has been established, in this stress-free state of physiological functioning perception refines to support the richest experience of the finest level of Nature. God Consciousness is not “God’s Consciousness” but the direct experience of the full range of God’s creation.   7. Unity Consciousness: in this supreme state of human experience, one perceives everything in terms of oneness the Self. In Cosmic Consciousness one lives in harmony with Natural Law, gaining support of Nature’s cosmic creativity. In Unity Consciousness, one experiences everything as a mode of functioning of one’s own intelligence and gains command over all the Laws of Nature.
Broader Term
Maharishi's Achievements
States of Consciousness
Narrower Term
Brahman Consciousness
Cosmic Consciousness
God Consciousness
Refined Cosmic Consciousness
Restful Alertness
Transcendental Consciousness
Unity Consciousness
Related Term
7 States of Consciousness
Center for Brain Consciousness and Cognition
Development of Consciousness
The Complete Book of Yogic Flying
Total Knowledge
Unified Field-Based Organic Agriculture
Vedic Psychology
Scientific Research  
Send comments to